LezGoMelbourne

A lesbian couple loving free, learning anew, and living in Melbourne

Australian Open 2013

Leave a comment

Rod Laver Arena, Rod Laver Arena Australian Open, Australian Open 2013, AusOpen, ausOpen 2013, Rod Laver Arena AusOpen 2013, Aus Open 2013, Aus Open, Tennis, Melbourne, Australian Open Melbourne, Australian Open Melbourne 2013, Lezgomelbourne, Lez go melbourne

The Rod Laver Arena is full of excited tennis fans

Melbourne is buzzing with activity the past few days. The streets are flooded with the colours green and yellow. The televisions sets at home are fixed on Ch. 7. What else can it be? It’s Australian Open 2013!

It’s my first Australian Open in Melbourne. I must say, every day is a temptation. You want to get in on the action. You want to dash to Rod Laver Arena or Hisense Arena. You want to be there on the grounds with everyone and root for your favourite player.

I am a Serena Willams and Venus Wiliams fan. I am so damn proud of them. They changed the game of tennis.

Unfortunately, Venus was out of the running for this year’s trophy. And, they didn’t make it to the semi-finals too for the Women’s Doubles category. They were bested by the duo Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci.

I’m glad I didn’t watch that game or else I would have had my heart broken twice. Yes, I am that emotionally invested with these sisters. In fact, I am so freaking weird and superstitious at times that I believe I jinx them when I watch them play. How do I watch a game then? I turn away from the television set when either one of them losses a point to their opponent. I let my partner do the watching for me. I believe she’s imbued with good luck. And when it’s all good, I resume watching. I am dead serious.

Today, Serena Williams will be competing against Sloane Stephens. It’ll be a great match to watch since I l support both of them. But then again, my ticket is for the 5pm session so I won’t be seeing them live in action. I know, I know. I’m a bad fan. But hey, I am grateful to be watching Australian Open with a free ticket. Yeah, someone else paid. And no, I am not sponsored or affiliated with any names or brands mentioned on this blog or blog post.

So, for now, I can only but give a few reminders to other arena-watching-newbies like me.

AUSOPEN TIP #1
There really is no way of knowing who you’ll be watching days before you buy your ticket. But, if you plan to buy your ticket the night before, then you can easily view the updated tournament schedule the following day.

AUSOPEN TIP #2
Entrance to the venue can be limited by arena and by time, especially during the qualifying rounds. Your Hisense Arena ticket won’t get you in Rod Laver Arena. And, your day session ticket won’t permit you to watch beyond that time. Once again, make sure where and when your favourite player’s tournament going to be held.

AUSOPEN TIP #3
So, what’s a girl to do? Buy a ground pass! You can catch a glimpse of your favourite player practicing on one of the open courts. There’s a designated court and time when they’ll be warming up. It’s usually an hour or two before their scheduled match. Just seeing them up close for once is a dream of a lifetime. At least that holds true for me.

AUSOPEN TIP #4
It’s really better to prepare early on for events such as this. Check the weather, slather on the sunscreen, get your shades, and hold the coffee. You don’t want to be going to the loo every now and then.
And oh, don’t forget your jacket. Australian summer is a bit finicky. At times, it’s 16C in the morning, heats up to 24C to 36C or more during the rest of the day, and then cools down again to 20C and below.

AUSOPEN TIP #5
Explore the grounds and be aware of the people around you. They give you more clues than you can imagine. The lines tell you where the good eats are at, where the toilets are, where the freebies are, and of course, where the same people are cheering for your favourite player.

AUSOPEN TIP #6
Dress to your fancy. It’s the time to let some of your finest summer wardrobe see the light of day or night for that matter. Or if you prefer, let loose and wear a more festive attire. You’re sure to see avid fans out there like you and me.

AUSOPEN TIP #7
Check what you can’t bring in with you. As much as we love to capture as much photos as we can, tripods aren’t allowed and so are camera lenses with more than 200mm.

I’ll be adding more to this list, if ever you need more tips. For now, let’s enjoy the Australian Open 2013!

Disclaimer: LezGoMelbourne is not paid by nor affiliated with any of the companies, shops, or brands mentioned above (if any). These are LezGoMelbourne’s personal opinions with no intention to cause or do any harm. These tips/guides are not to be taken as fact or absolute. Please consult with a professional for your own counsel.

© LezGoMelbourne/Lezgomelbourne.wordpress.com 2013 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, including photos if any, without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Lezgomelbourne/Lezgomelbourne.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

